Current Publication | x
Close

Managing Users

Users assigned the Administrator role can manage both local users and enterprise users.

Search for a User

You can search for a user. Searches for a user are case-insensitive, prefix searches of the User ID, First Name, and Last Name fields. 

You must log in as an enterprise user to search for enterprise users.

To search for a user:

1 Go to User > Users.

2 In the Search Users field, enter the following keywords to search the users of interest.

Ø First Name       The first name of the user of interest.

Ø Last Name       The last name of the user of interest.

Ø User ID       The user ID of the user of interest.

Ø Domain       Enter Local to search for local users. Enter a domain name to search for enterprise users.

3 Press Enter.

The first 500 users in the database that match your search criteria are displayed in the Users list.

If the list is too large to scan, further refine your search string.

View User Information

You can view information about a user, local or enterprise.

To view a user information:

1 Go to User > Users.

2 Select the user you want.

3 Click Edit edit_icon.png to view the user information.

User Information Details

The table lists the user information details.

Column

Description

General Info

First Name
The user’s first name.
Last Name
The user’s last name.
User ID
The user’s unique login name. This user ID must be unique across all rooms and users and across all domains.
Email Address
The user’s email address. (The Email address is an ASCII-only field.)
Title
The user’s professional title.
Department
The user’s department within the enterprise.
City
The city in which the user’s office is located.
Contact Number
The contact phone number for the user.
Assign Area
If your RealPresence Resource Manager system has areas enabled, you can choose to assign this user to an area that you manage.
Belongs to Area
This field is only available if Areas have been enabled.
Manages Area
This field is only available if Areas have been enabled.
Create Password
Click the Create Password button to generate a password by the system.

Associated Roles

Assigned Roles
The roles assigned to the user.

Groups

Type
The type of group to which the user belongs. Possible values are local and enterprise.
Name
The name of the group to which the user belongs.

Inherited Group Info

Address Book
The Address Book(s) the user sees based upon the groups to which the user is assigned.

Edit a User

For local users added manually to the RealPresence Resource Manager system, you can edit all user information. If you change the user ID, the user must log into the associated endpoints with the new ID.

For users added through the enterprise directory, you can edit their roles (unless the role is inherited from a group) and associate them to endpoints, but you cannot change user names, user IDs, or passwords.

You need the Administrator role to edit users.

To edit a user:

1 Go to User > Users.

2 Search for the user you want to edit.

3 Select the user you want to edit and click Edit edit_icon00001.png.

4 As required, edit the General Info, Associated Endpoints, Associated Roles, Managed Areas, Associated Alert Profile, and Dial String Reservations sections of the Edit User dialog.

If the user has multiple associated endpoints, list the endpoints in order of priority, with the primary endpoint first.

When scheduling a user in a conference, the RealPresence Resource Manager system will, by default, schedule the user’s primary endpoint. The scheduler can choose to change the request to schedule one of the user’s other endpoints.

5 Click Update.

Assign Users to Manage an Area(s)

You need the Administrator role to enable areas (multi-tenancy) and assign users to manage an area.

In order to perform RealPresence Resource Manager system tasks within an area, the user must be allowed to manage that area. Allowing a user to manage an area means allowing them to perform the duties associated with their role in the areas that they are allowed to manage.

A user can be allowed to manage:

Zero areas. This means that user cannot perform any tasks in any area.

One Area. This means that the user can perform role-based tasks for the area he manages. You must indicate which area you want the user to manage.

Multiple areas. This means the user can perform role-based tasks in each area that he manages. You must indicate which areas you want the user to manage.

All areas. A user can manage all areas if he is assigned a system role or if his role includes the View and/or Modify All areas permission. If the user has this role, you do not need to explicitly allow him to manage an area or areas.

For example, a user with the area scheduler role can belong to the yellow area and allowed to schedule conferences in both the yellow and blue areas if he has permission to manage the blue area as well as the yellow area.

In order to enable a user to manage an area, you must have the administrator role or the area administrator role and manage the area to which you want to allow a user to manage. In short, you need to have permission to manage the area to which you want to allow a user to manage.

To assign a user to manage an area(s):

1 Go to User > Users.

2 Search for the user you want to assign to an area.

3 Select the user and click Edit edit_icon00002.png.

4 In the Edit User  dialog, click Managed Areas .

You must have either the administrator role or have the area administrator role and be allowed to manage more than one area in order to perform this action.

5 In the Available Areas section, select the area(s) you want the user to manage and click the arrow icon to move the list to the Selected Areas section.

Conversely, you can select area(s) in the Selected Areas section and click the corresponding arrow to move the selected area(s) to the Available Areas section.

The user will be assigned to manage the areas in the Selected Areas section.

6 Click Update.

Enable/Disable Users

Be default, a user is enabled to use the system when you create the user. However, after some period of inactivity users may become disabled.

You can enable or disable multiple users at once.

You need the Administrator role to enable or disable users.

To enable or disable multiple users:

1 Go to User > Users

2 Select the user you want to enable or disable and click Edit edit_icon00003.png.

3 Check or clear User Enabled.

The users are enabled or disabled.

Unlock a User Account

When a local user reaches the Failed login threshold, the system will not allow the user to log in until an administrator unlocks the user’s account. When a user’s account is locked, the system will display an error message.

You need the Administrator role to enable or disable users.

To unlock a user account:

1 Go to User > Users and search for the user you want to unlock.

2 Select the user whose account you want to unlock and click Edit edit_icon00004.png.

3 Clear the User Locked check box.

4 Click Update.

5 The system should allow the user to log in.

Clear Orphan Active Directory Users/Rooms

When a user or room is deleted from your Active Directory system, it is not automatically deleted from your RealPresence Resource Manager system. You may want to periodically update your user list when you are integrated with an Active Directory system.

Use the Clear Orphan Active Directory Users/Rooms option to delete enterprise users that are listed in your system, but no longer exist in Active Directory.

You need the Administrator role to clear the orphan Active Directory users or rooms.

 

Be sure your Active Directory Connection is Available.
If you perform an orphan clean up when your system is not connected to Active Directory, you will delete ALL users in the system.

To delete orphaned Active Directory users:

1 Go to User > Users.

2 Select Clear Orphan AD User/Rooms from the More drop-down list.

3 Click OK.

All enterprise users that no longer exist in your enterprise directory are deleted from your RealPresence Resource Manager system.

Related Topics

Machine Translation

You are cautioned that the translation of this document is generated by a machine; therefore, the translated document may have errors and be inconsistent with the original English language version of the document.

The English language version of this document shall be considered the governing document related to the Polycom product.

If there is any contradiction between the English language version of the document and the translated version of the document, the English language version of the document shall take precedence.

The translation is provided for your convenience only. Neither Google nor Polycom shall be responsible for translated content or for the performance of the translation tool. If you require further assistance on non-translation issues, please contact Polycom support.

Translated documents are not available in PDF format.