Reset the Phone and Configuration

You can reset part or all of the phone and phone configuration.

Procedure

  • On the phone, go to Settings > Advanced > Administration Settings > Reset to Defaults.

    The following table describes the phone reset options.

    Setting

    Description

    Reset Local Configuration 

    Clears the override file generated by changes using the phone user interface.

    Reset Web Configuration

    Clears the override file generated by changes using the Web Configuration Utility.

    Reset Device Settings 

    Resets the phone's flash file system settings that are not stored in an override file.

    These are your network and provisioning server settings and include custom certificates and encryption keys. Local, web, and other configuration files remain intact.

    Format File System 

    Formats the phone's flash file system and deletes the UC Software application, log files, configuration, and override files.

    Note that if the override file is stored on the provisioning server, the phone re-downloads the override file when you provision the phone again. Formatting the phone's file system does not delete those device settings affecting network and provisioning, and any certificates and encryption keys remain on the phone.

    Reset to Factory 

    Removes the Web and local override files, any stored configuration files in the flash file system, as well as any custom certificates and encryption keys.

    All network and provisioning settings are reset but the UC Software application and updater remain intact.