Hold a Call Privately on a Shared Line

You can hold a call privately on a shared line using the Private Hold feature, which places the call on hold and displays the line as busy on the other phones on the shared line.

By default, when you place a call on hold on a shared line, all of the phones registered with that line are notified of the call's held status. When the Private Hold feature is enabled, the Pvt Hold soft key is displayed, and you can hold a call privately, transfer a call, or initiate a conference call without notifying others on the shared line of the call's held state.

Check with your system administrator to find out if this feature is available on your phone.

Procedure

  • During a call, press More > Pvt Hold.
    The call is held on your phone, and the line shows as busy on the other shared line users' phones.

    When you hold a call privately, other users on the shared line cannot resume or pick up the call. However, users on the shared line can barge in on privately held calls. In order to allow other users to resume the call, you have to publicly hold the call by pressing the Hold key or soft key.

    When Private Hold is enabled, you can also transfer a call or initiate a conference call without the other shared line users being notified of the call's status. When you press the Transfer or Conference soft key on the shared line, the call is held privately. If you press Hold before you transfer a call or initiate a conference, the other users on the shared line are notified of the call's held status.